In Loving Memory of Mark John Misner 07AUG53-29MAY07

This is the hardest note I have ever had to make on a usually upbeat,  informative website.

It is with deep sorrow that I must tell all of you that my loving husband Mark passed away suddenly in the wee hours of Tuesday morning.

As you can imagine, we are all grief-stricken and in complete shock.

But your e-mails and prayers are being read and appreciated.  The outpouring of love and comfort from all of you, your prayers, and the strength of my faith in God are the rocks I need to keep me standing.

Obviously, it is going to be a while before I can write here again or partake in forum discussions.  At this moment, our forum Administrator Kristine (aka CopperSun) and my dear friend Clive (aka Spanky) are reading and answering the forum and telephone lines.

For anyone in Canada or elsewhere, who needs more information, Kris has graciously offered to field calls.  Her numbers are:  Phone: 306-825-0730 Cell 306-821-0100
God bless you Kris, for being such a friend in this time of need.

Mark was the love of my life- my soul mate and best friend.  He was my everything.  He made me laugh every day, and he touched the lives of all who passed through his life.  Hold on to those wonderful memories, dear friends!  They are what will keep us going today, tomorrow and through all eternity.  He will be watching over me and wanting me to somehow get out of the darkness and back into the light.  Pray with me, that I will overcome the darkest hours, and find that light again.

Peace and love,

Colleen 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to In Loving Memory of Mark John Misner 07AUG53-29MAY07

  1. Gordon says:

    Im not sure how I can express my saddness for your loss Colleen.  Its Gordon, the Firefighter from Canada who spent January in Sosua and was at your bar often.  I much enjoyed your company and Marks and felt like home in your company.  My thoughts are with you at this time and take care.  I will see you again in person later this year.
     
    Gordon Bruynson

  2. MICHAEL says:

    MICK + LINDA
     
    HI COLLEEN, WE WERE REALLY DEVASTATED TO HEAR ABOUT MARK, AND OUR THOUGHTS ARE WITH YOU BABE, WE WILL MISS HIM DEARLY. HE BROUGHT HAPPINESS TO MANY PEOPLES LIVES INCLUDING OUR OWN. SPEAK TO YOU SOON, TAKE CARE, AND REMEMBER WE ARE ALL YOUR FREINDS IF YOU NEED US FOR ANYTHING.
     
    LOTS OF LOVE, mICK + LINDA XXX

  3. Unknown says:

    Dear Colleen,We are heartbroken over the news.  A stop at the Checkpoint was always in order every time we came down to the DR.  We last saw you right after Easter, and we\’ll always remember Mark\’s kind words and welcoming smile.  He treated us like old friends every time we stopped by.  Rose and Janice (Renee\’s mother and sister) join us in extending our heartfelt sympathies to you at this most difficult time.  God bless you and give you strength, Colleen.  Rest in peace, Mark.  We\’ll never forget you.Renee and DavidNew Jersey & Perla Marina

  4. Nancy says:

    Donny and I had a warm, wonderful evening at Checkpoint last October. We are saddened by the news of Mark\’s passing. I am sitting here stunned at what must be the hardest time for Colleen – we pray for her and the family with very saddened hearts.  All our love , Donny and Nancy Haynes, Montreal

  5. ¤arohanui¤ says:

    Colleen, we love you.Sarah & Rob

  6. Amy says:

    Colleen & Family,
     
    My sincerest condolences go out to you.  Mark was a special person to many, always bringing a smile to the proverbial bar.  As I stated on DR1 … I cannot begin to describe the loss that Sosua, as a community, has sustained through Mark\’s passing.  I am thankfull forf having had him in my life albeit for such a short period of time. 
     
    Warm regards,
    Amy

  7. Gordon says:

     colleen , my prayers and those of may others are up here  are with you.   gordon,breanne & amber

  8. Kim and Robert says:

    Colleen and family,
    Rob and I are so sorry to hear about Mark.  I loved chatting with Mark about his days in Clearwater BC, he was truly an inspiration to all who knew him.  We are so sad.  We can only imagine the loss you\’re feeling at this time.  If there is anything we can do for you, please please, do not hesitate in contacting us.  I called Linda at Mels this morning and she passed me onto Angela at the Pub.  Angela told me that you will be having a service for Mark in Vancouver at some point in the near future.  Rob and I will be there.  Again, our deepest sympathies are with you Colleen.  Love and Hugs,
    Kim and Rob Hillard from Kamloops, BC

     

  9. Bernard says:

    Colleen, our prayers, thoughts and love will be with you each and every day. We are so so so sorry for your loss. For myself and my family we will never forget Mark rideing up to the Checkpoint on his Hardly Davidson, with that big smile on his face, almost like he was up to no good. Take care of yourself and we will see you on our next visit.
    Bernard & Pam Gotto
    Raymore, Sask.
    Canada 

  10. wendy says:

    Hello Colleen,
    Bobby and I just heard the news.  We are so sorry to hear about the passing of Mark.  Our thoughts and prayers are with you at this time.  Mark was a wonderful man and will be remembered by the many, many friends he and you welcomed to your bar.
     
    We are so sorry Colleen, God Bless You, our thoughts are with you and your family at this time.
     
    Your friends,
     
    Bob and Wendy
    Freelton, Ontario

  11. Anne says:

    Coleen
     
    Mark was a great guy and will be dearly missed. Our thoughts are with you at this sad time, remember that you are surrounded by people that love you.
     
    Take Care
     
    Anne, Bob, Sarah, Stewart and Brandon

  12. Unknown says:

    Colleen    We were so shocked to hear about Mark.  Our thoughts and prayers are with you.  Always felt so welcome at the Checkpoint  and really enjoyed the company of you and Mark.    Rob and Jane from Calgary

  13. joanne says:

    colleen… i am sitting here in toronto in shock.  the news of marks death is completely heartbreaking to me in so many ways… truthfully, i\’ve been staring at this blank screen for about 30 minutes.  nothing i write seems to properly express how i feel, but most certainly does not express how much my heart, thoughts, and prayers are with you. 
     
    you both made me feel like and old friend, right at home, and part of your sosua family from the first day we met…  from thousands of miles away, i am thinking of you and mark, your infectious smiles, laughter, and love.  the passion for life, love & happiness that you shared is an extrordinary and beautiful thing. 
     
    you and mark touched my heart, as you did countless others, and i will cherish the memories always…
     
    love (and a big teary hug…)
    joanne lusted
    toronto, ontario, canada
    cofresi beach, puerto plata, dominican republic
     

  14. MC says:

    Dear Collen and Maddy
    I am so so sorry for your loss my heart is very sad.My thoughts and prayers are with you at this time.
     
                                                                              Love you both M.C.

  15. Cathy says:

    Colleen,
    How do I possibly express the emotions that went through us all on Tuesday when word spread.  We all got together and could nothing but think of all the good time and of how much of a loss this is to everyone.  Our thought our with you at this time, and on Sunday when paying respect to Janice, Mark will also be in our thoughts.
     
    All of our love,
     
    Cathy & Campbell
    Vancouver, BC June 1, 2007

  16. Richard says:

    Dear Colleen.  Please accept my sincere sympathies in your sad loss.  Although I have never met Mark, from all the comments I have heard from friends in Sosúa I know he was a fine man who was making a difference.  At this time I do know you will be surrounded by the love of your friends who will do their best to help you in coping.  When you look up to the stars at night if you look for the brightest, I’m sure that will be Mark.  Both you and Mark are in my thoughts and prayers.
     
    Sincerely,
     
    Richard Klojgaard,
     
    Yahoo Sosúa group.
     
     

  17. phil says:

    HI COLLEEN I AM SO SORRY TO HEAR OF MARK\’S PASSING, I WAS IN THE D.R.. FOR THE FIRST TIME IN MARCH AND THE TRIPS TO THE CHECKPOINT QUICKLY BECAME  A HIGHLITE, YOU ARE BOTH JUST AWESOME PEOPLEAND YOUR NEWS HAS JUST HIT SO HARD, GIVEN THE FACT I HAD ONLY MET YOU A FEW TIMES, MY THOUGHTS &PRAYERS ARE WITH YOU AND YOUR FAMILY, TAKE CARE, P LYONS,WINDSOR ONTARIO

  18. Unknown says:

    Dear Colleen and Family,
    Just read in the paper tonight the tragic news out of Sosua.  We were shocked and terribly disturbed by the news.  We spent time in the Dominican at Christmas and  spent Christmas Eve(2006) at the bar with you, Mark and friends and really enjoyed your hospitality and kindness shown.  Our prayers and deepest condolescences are with your at this time of loss. May God be with you and your family in the coming days and always remember the days that you had with Mark and not the day that you lost him.  It is hard to do, but we have experienced a great loss in our family and it is friends and special memories that will always outweigh the time of loss in the days to come.  God bless.
    Lyle and Shirley  – Regina, Sask.  June 3/07 

  19. Unknown says:

    Dear Colleen.
    we just read the sad news.
    Our prayers are with you.
    Remember the good times you had and try to look forward to the light.
    In deepest sympathy,
    Carmen & Charley
    from Germany
     

  20. Nick says:

    hey please call  me when something is happening so i  may show up

  21. Nick says:

    1-780-632-0309 Vegreville boys

  22. Unknown says:

    Colleen, I was so shocked to hear about Mark when Mom called…. my thoughts have been with you daily.  May the support of family and friends at this very difficult time help you through.  Wishing you peace.  Love, Jackie B

  23. Unknown says:

    Dear Colleen and family,
    It was with great sadness and shock that I have heard of Marks passing..  I still cannot believe you are facing such a difficult and challenging time.. I have visited Checkpoint with my friend (and your friend)  Susan( (from Canada)  a few times and have always been welcomed and connected to "Canada" when we visited you both.  God Bless you Colleen and my sympathies are with you and your family.  Mark was a wonderful man, and although I only met him a few times, you could tell right away he was a very giving and wonderful person.  Dear Colleen, God give you the strenth you need to work through this difficult time.   I cannot imagine what you are going through. My thoughts are with you.
     
    Roxanne
     

  24. Michelle says:

    my dearest Colleen
     
    I just read about Mark. I\’m in shock! I can\’t believe such a terrible tragedy happened to such an amazing man.
    I can\’t begin to express my deep sadness for your loss. I have been truly blessed having you both in my life.
    I\’m praying for you and Maddy.
    Please call me if you need anything (like a strong shoulder)
    I love you
    Michelle

  25. Cathy says:

    Colleen – Willy and I are so sorry to hear about Mark\’s passing, and we are still filled with sadness.  Our thoughts and prayers are with you.  Take care of yourself.
     
    Love, Sharon & Willy
     

  26. Karen says:

    Colleen, We were both so sad to hear of your loss and just cannot take it in…You and Mark were one of the main reasons for our fantastic times had in Sosua..Mark was such a special, unique person and touched our hearts..please remember that our thoughts are with you now at this time and hope to see you soon.
    God Bless you Colleen and please take care of you for us!
    Karen and Wendy (UK)

  27. Vanessa says:

    Dear Colleen and Madeline;
    I recently learned of the sad news of Mark\’s passing from the neighbours in the old building on Harwood. I can\’t express to you both how sorry I was to hear about Mark.  I have very fond memories of him when we worked together at the Empire Landmark and also during the time you and Mark managed the building on Harwood. He was always such a helpful and kind person, and definitely had a great sense of humor and he was wonderfully laid back; I was thrilled for you when I heard that you were both living your dream in the D.R., and I hoped to perhaps visit your corner of the Caribbean one day. I can\’t imagine your grief, but I know that Mark is guiding you both and his shining spirit was needed in Heaven, and will continue on in the hearts of everyone who knew him.  I truly wish you both peace again one day.  My prayers are with you and your family. 
    Much love, Vanessa Fairey

  28. Ron says:

      Hi Colleen Sorry to here about Mark, just found out today hope you are ok all our prayers are with you everyday.
     
     
                          Ron & Eriks Simmons
                          Hamilton, ontario

  29. macchase says:

    Colleen, please accept our deepest condolences. You are both in our thoughts and prayers. Sending you a very large hug and all of our best wishes. Hope to see you next April if all goes according to plan. Please take care of yourself.
     
    Love Arlene and Kevin
    Dartmouth Nova Scotia

  30. Unknown says:

      Hi Colleen. We just heard about the passing of Mark. I can\’t express in words the sorrow and grief we feel. You two  are like an extension of our family, because  family is the friends you choose. From the jokes he told to the excellent caesars he would mix, we will miss him. We look forward to seeing you in February.  We will miss Mark, but we still have you and we look forward to seeing you again. We love you very much.
     
     
        Jim and Pat Bowes
     
       Ashland, Ohio
     

  31. Alison says:

    I almost don\’t know what to say.
     
    I\’m so glad that you have a strong foundation in God, because that will get you through a lot……and there are litterally thousands of people who are thinking of you and praying for you.
     
    When My boyfriend told me of the news, I was completely shocked. I couldn\’t say anything but OMG!….OMG!
     
    Mark was young and vibrant. He was so outgoing and BOTH of you had a way of making a stranger feel like a friend. I met you once and I felt instantly welcome. That little bar was an extention of your home and you made everyone feel at home there.
     
    I wish I could put into words everything else I\’m feeling, but for once, I\’m at a loss for them.
     
    My thoughts for Mark are shock and disbelief. My thoughts for Colleen are of strength and support.
     
    You\’re devistated now, but you have the type of spirit that will get you through.
     
    My deepest sympathies for your loss and my loudest "WHOOP!" in CELEBRATION of Mark\’s life.
     
    Be strong
    Big big hugs
    Alison Singer……..Sept. 2/07
     

  32. Unknown says:

    HI COLLINE, JUST HEARD ABOUT MARK, I AM SO SORRY FOR YOUR LOSS. HE WAS A GREAT GUY. I HOPE THINGS ARE GETTING EASYER AS TIME GO\’S ON. HE WILL BE MISSED… GOD BLESS YOU!          HOPE TO SEE YOU THIS WINTER.
     
    WARMEST
    REGARDS,
    BIG CHRIS,   WHITEHALL, MICHIGAN
     

Leave a comment